Burning Fields

img_0180

I was headed to Pocahontas this weekend with my cousin and when we started getting close there is this big clouds of smoke. I had no idea what they were but they originated from multiple different places all around the highway I had thought that somebody was just burning big piles of rubble but turns out it was actually farmers burning their fields off. After looking into it I found out that when the farmers burn their fields off it makes the soil go back to a neutral pH level so that the crops next year will be even better. I’m not really sure how they keep control of The fires because they were burning massive fields and the fire spread about 100 yards wide. I’m pretty interested to find out how they keep it under control. But for now I just have to keep guessing.

Leave a Reply

